top of page
Search
  • Jocelyn

Pisgah Stage 4 ~ Sand in My Teeth



Today was... well lets just call it an adventure. It rained most of the night and was still raining when we drove up to the start of the race today. I woke up with sore legs but hoped that they would come back when I hopped on the bike. Due to the rain they shortened the course a bit, cutting out the first single track section and adding in a bit of extra gravel at the start.


The gravel section was long and hard. We rode with my teammate Tascha most of the way, which was a lot of fun. the worst part was the amount of mud flying from everyone's tires. By the end of the section there was sand in my teeth and eyes, making it hard to see.



After the gravel there was a long, fun single track section up to the top of the mountain. The roots weren't too much of a problem in the wet weather and I managed to ride most of the section. The best part was that I was riding with both Tascha and another super fast lady that we've been chasing all week. Girl power!


Eventually Tascha dropped us both. Then, at the last steep section of trail, I pulled ahead of the other lady and tried to chase Tascha down as we hit the Enduro section.


The Enduro today was a ton of fun! It's my favourite descent so far. It was really rocky, but most of it was rideable -- even in the rain.


In the end, my dad and I won our category again and I managed to ride my way into what would have been a fifth place in the open women's category. We finished off very muddy and sore, but still smiling.


GoPro footage from my dad chasing us three ladies:



Stage Overview Video:

(Note how wet it looks)



Stay tuned tomorrow for the report on the last stage!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page