top of page
Search
  • Jocelyn

Canada Cup #7: Horseshoe ~ Jet Lag

This weekend's adventure started last week Friday. After spending two weeks in BC visiting family and then camping, we drove back from camping and my dad and I headed for the airport to catch an overnight flight home. Overnight flights are always fun... Luckily I'm pretty good at sleeping (one of my many talents ;) ) and I managed to catch a couple hours on the plane. We landed around 5 am, grabbed our bikes, and went home to get a few more hours of sleep. My alarm went off way too soon and before I knew it we were leaving for Horseshoe!


Horseshoe has always been one of my favourite venues. The trails are fast and flowy and there's a lot of climbing, which I enjoy. This year there was a lot of extremely deep sand on the course - which proved to be a good challenge.


Sunday was race day. I got to sleep in but it was definitely still very hard to wake up and get going. One delicious coffee and a good stretching session later and I was good to go!



The race started out on a sandy double track. I fell into position behind Kelly and Kaitlyn and tried to stay on their wheels. Sadly, I wasn't able to keep the same high intensity so early in the race. I dropped back a couple of positions and chased hard.


Towards the end of lap 2 of 3 I started to gain positions again. I was feeling strong and ready to catch back on. I passed a couple girls and was chasing down the girl in 6th place for all of lap 3. I held on to her, but wasn't able to pass her and so finished in 7th place.

Photo bombed by the coach

I am really happy with how my race went, considering how jet lagged I was!


Next weekend we race again at Hardwood for the national championships.


Stay tuned for more! Happy riding :)


1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page